about

Bombangrepp Gothenburg, Sweden

Members:
John (vocals)
Andreas (guitar)
Zach (drums)

Former members: Oscarsson (guitar)
2011 - 2015
Dennis (bass)
2011 - 2012

contact / help

Contact Bombangrepp

Streaming and
Download help

Track Name: American Aftermath
Ahh, here we are again. The almighty, punishing power of Bombangrepp is undeniable. This band, who’s name means “bomb attack,” has unleashed one of the most punishing, filthy crust albums I’ve heard in a long time. Pulverizing from start to finish, I cannot get enough of this band. Devastating d-beat drumming, lightning-quick buzzsaw riffing and amazingly strong vocals make up this bands sound and it flows together so well that it is almost uncanny.

Bombangrepp’s latest release, titled Skuggan av Dödens Sändebud which translates to “The Shadow of Death’s Messengers” is a dark, foreboding and all-around pulverizing record. I’ve been listening to it for days now and it never gets old. I mentioned that this band’s name translated to “bomb attack,” which is about as close to a comparison as I can give them. Absolutely unbelievable crust. Best of all, you can download Skuggan av Dödens Sändebud for free right here or in the widget below! Trust me, you won’t regret downloading this motherfucker. You can also keep up with the band on Facebook

~R. Gnarly//Dig It or Die.

http://americanaftermath.net/2011/10/27/with-life-at-stake-bombangrepp-will-punish-your-earholes/
Track Name: Lukinzine
Med gaspedalen fastsvetsad i golvet och turnévanen fylld med raketbränsle far Bombangrepp, likt en frustrerad och målmedveten orkan, rakt igenom allt med en hastighet som stundvis är svår att svälja. Produktionen är skitig och ibland obefintlig, vilket tillsammans med just hastigeheten bildar en grötig sörja som inte ens skulle serveras till fångarna som man ser i stereotypa amerikanska fängelsefilmer. Men är det bra då?


Låt mig säga så här, gillar man crust och d-takt som är nedskitat till max, och som samtidigt är ute efter att pulverisera allt vad dina hörselorgan står för, så kommer man att älska Bombangrepp. Gillar man däremot sin musik polerad och inspelad med flera månaders mellanrum i en värld där fingertoppskänslan går före magkänslan, så kommer det här att smaka som en blandning av räkost och vaniljglass. Ett mer passande bandnamn kunde killarna troligtvis inte ha valt, för om det är något som alla de här 10 låtarna har genomensamt så är det att de är lika furiösa som ett bombanfall över intet ont anande civila offer. Bombangrepp krossar, kör över, förstör och lemlästar, och med tiden kommer de här killarna att växa till något riktigt jävla bra. Som band är de inte där ännu, men tro mig, jag sitter på första parkett och bara väntar på den riktiga och definitivt stundande explosionen. - Lukinzine, 6/10

http://www.lukinzine.se/

2011-11-17
Track Name: DoomsdayMag
BOMBANGREPP – Skuggan av dödens sändebud Cd-r
[Egen]
Bombangrepp, från Trollhättan om jag inte minns helt fel, är inte rädda för att dänga plattan i mattan. 'Skuggan av dödens sändebud' bjuder, med undantag för ett par tunga partier, på konstant råmangel. Soundmässigt låter dom som Skitsystem gjorde när Adrian fortfarande satt på trumpallen ('Grå värld / svarta tankar' speciellt), samt Acursed's första inspelningar, fast lite snabbare + en aning metal. Ljudmässigt hänger jag upp mig på ett par saker, bland annat att jag inte gillar virvelljudet, låter för mycket metal för mig. Det låter jävligt rått men det blir tyvärr lite grötigt, trumljudet och nedstämt kan ställa till det. Skulle vilja ha en lite bättre produktion men ändå inte, risken finns att råheten och den där goa känslan som faktiskt finns här skulle försvinna, fast jag fattar ju inget om ljud så jag vet ju inte ett skit egentligen. 10 låtar på 12 minuter bjuds det på så ja, tempot är som sagt högt och intensivt. Jag gillar det här, trots gröten, gillar du ovan nämnda band så ska du definitivt kolla in det här. Favvolåten är nog 'Autonoma Frizoner'. - DoomsdayMag

2011.11.17

http://doomsdaymag.blogspot.com/2011/11/bombangrepp-skuggan-av-dodens-sandebud.html
Track Name: My Last Chapter
I think I’ve read Bombangrepp on an online gig poster, but that’s as far as my knowledge of the band goes. When I got an email asking for my address I was promised a crust demo, and by gosh it delivered. I believe it’s Bombangrepp’s first release, limited to only 50 copies, and if you’re not one of those lucky few to get a hold of Skuggan av dödens sändebud you’re missing out on something grand.

As soon as Livets refräng gets going my adrenaline starts pumping. This is exactly the way a demo should knock you off your feet; without mercy and by complete surprise. My first thought was that it reminded me a whole lot of Skitsystem, both the old and the new, but as the tracks went by I couldn’t help but feel a sensation of Bombstrike, just as Anatomi-71 feels relevant. While there’s not much black metal going on (although it has its fair share of metal) there’s still something about it that gets me thinking of Hotbild, and I think it’s that sensation of utter desperation the two acts have in common. While Bombangrepp comes off as just purely unrelenting hatred and aggression there’s still this massively desperate edge to it, much thanks to the vocals. Instead of that fancy hardcoreized vocals that are oh-so-popular now (and in my mind’s a real plague) this is just straight up hoarse, brutal and frenzied screaming, constantly balancing between growling and screaming.

Combine all the previously mentioned acts with the general sound of the 80ies, a bit of that resurgence of Skitslickers worship and a dose of the more modern crustcore (like Shades of Grey and whatnot), and you’ve got yourself an end-product that sounds a lot like Bombangrepp. While musically it’s generally just brutally pummeling they still pay close attention to the riffing, and within the base of the riffs there’s a lot of catchiness going on, just as the melodic lead popping up every now and then is pure killer. Skuggan av dödens sändebud has got the raging joy of love for the music, which some young bands can truly get across, combined with the slick and honed writing of a very mature act. It’s a rare quality, and it’d surprise the hell out of me it this doesn’t get re-released on vinyl, ‘cause this is one mean-as-fudge demo.

9/10

Written by Kristoffer - December 14, 2011

http://www.mylastchapter.net/index.php?page=bombangrepp---skuggan-av-doedens-saendebud-cd-r
Track Name: Puro Ruido (Argentina)
Hablar de Suecia y hablar de D-Beat es redundar en lo mismo. Dicho país con dicha etiqueta van de la mano. Es decir, desde aquella gira de Discharge a principios de los 80s, sumado a la movida finesa de Hardcore Punk encabezada por Rattus y Kaaos, los suecos empezaron a vomitar bandas crustosas, cultores de un D-Beat tan demoledor, que salvo el caso de Discharge (obviamente), ha resultado prácticamente imposible de superar. Bombangrepp son una prueba de lo que digo, y este disco, elegido por Gregor Mackintosh de Paradise Lost como una de las mejores placas del año, es una contundente prueba de cuan buenos son los suecos en esta materia.
Un bombardeo furioso e incesante, en la senda de Skitsystem y Anti-Cimex, con ese sonido infernal que abruma los sentidos, ese ritmo que quita el aliento y una voz cruda y dura, como manda el manual. Palo y a la bolsa, amigos, directo al grano van los suecos. Acá no hay espacio para nada que no sea D-Beat frenético, desesperado; todo lo que se salga de dicho molde, es desechado de raíz. John (voz), Tobbe (guitarra), Dennos (bajo) y Zach (batería) parecen haber aprendido muy bien la lección, tanto en el sonido adoptado para presentar la propuesta como en la forma de encarar las composiciones. Cada tema parece haber sido compuesto por la banda entera, tocando en un ensayo y descargando la furia entre los 4 al mismo tiempo. Y así es como debe crearse esta música: sin racionalismos excesivos, ni deteniéndose en los arreglos, ni invirtiendo tiempo y dinero en grandes producciones. Se pone la rabia y los huevos en el tapete y se va a por todas. Bombangrepp lo han entendido, lo han aprendido y lo han puesto en práctica. Y así les salió este disco: asesino.

http://puroruido.blogspot.com/2011/12/bombangrepp-skuggan-av-dodens-sandebud.html
Track Name: New Noise (Greece)
"Καιρό είχαμε να αναφερθούμε σε d-beat μπάντα και σε κάποια από τις περιπλανήσεις μας στον ιστό, πέσαμε πάνω στους Bombangrepp και το demo τους Skuggan av Dödens Sändebud, το οποίο προσφέρουν για download.

Οι Bombangrepp είναι -τι άλλο- Σουηδοί, οπότε το άθλημα το ξέρουυν καλά και στην συγκεκριμένη κυκλοφορία παρουσιάζουν 10 δυναμίτες με κιθάρες που ξυρίζουν, λυσσασμένα φωνητικά και το κλασικό κοπάνημα στα τύμπανα, european style...

Δεν μιλάμε για μουσική τύπου νεο-crust, αλλά για το κλασικό d-beat/crust που μάθαμε και γουστάρουμε. Ακούστε πχ το Inget Hopp - Ingen Framtid και θα καταλάβετε για τι ακριβώς μιλάμε. Άλλωστε το συμπεριέλαβε και ο Gregor Macintosh (ναι ο γνωστός) στα καλύτερα της χρονιάς που πέρασε... Κατεβάστε το Skuggan av Dödens Sändebud στο bandcamp της μπάντας."

http://www.newnoise.gr/news/news/730-bombangrepp-skuggan-av-doedens-saendebud
Track Name: Blogg As Fuck
Nu är det fan Cimex-allvar som Sika sa då det begav sig. Fick en demo med Bombangrepp från Trollhättan i brevlådan för ett tag sedan och den har snurrat en hel del sedan dess. 10 låtar brutalmangel i ett tempo som inte är helt vanligt vad gäller svenska käng/råpunksgäng av idag. Kände att jag behövde något nytt sådant här pang på möljband som inte överdoserar på slingor och melodier, känns som det blir färre och färre av den sorten. Det som sagt relativt höga tempot för tankarna lite till Doom/ENT/Disrupt mer än våra inhemska förmågor, även om det finns en del av det också. Tidiga Skitsystem känns också ganska relevanta, och fetljudet är lite Lycanthropunk. Texter på svenska (alla utom en) vilket gillas, men som så ofta så medföljer inget textblad tyvärr. Det är väl i stort det enda jag inte är riktigt sams med här... Passa på att knip ett fysiskt ex av denna cdr genom att beställa den från deras bandcampsida då den endast är tryckt i 50 ex. Där finns den även att ladda ner i sin helhet. Släpps inte detta som 7'' innan årets slut så lägger jag ner den här skiten, det är ett löfte!

http://bloggasfuck.blogspot.com/2012/02/bombangrepp-skuggan-av-dodens-sandebud.html
Track Name: Profane Existence
"This demo is ten raging tracks of insane kick-to-the-head Scandinavian punk rock! There is just intense, blistering speed coming from BOMBANGREPP and each song comes in at under two minutes and several tracks struggle to make it to the one minute mark. This is exactly what you want from a demo: short, sweet, and to the point, leaving you hungry for the next release. BOMBANGREPP are definitely gonna shred your fucking face off, their speed borders on power violence, the vocals have an intense growling staccato delivery, and the drumming is pure brutality. The Swedes know how to do it and this band is no exception. As far as I know this is BOMBANGREPP’s only release thus far and they sure made it count. This CD-R has a no-frills sleeve and no insert or lyrics provided. The demo is hand numbered, I got number 12 of 50 so make sure to drop them a line to get yer hands on one of these babies. This shit will stick to your ribs!" - Jason S

http://profaneexistence.org/2012/02/16/bombangrepp-skuggan-av-dodens-sandebud-cd-r-review/
Track Name: Razorcake
"Heavy duty Swedish fjordcore here, very close in sound and sentiment to compatriots The Victims and Wolfbrigade. The d-beat factor is definitely in evidence, but isn’t a detriment to the sheer malevolence that just oozes from each track. If this is only a demo, I’m a bit afeared of what these kids are gonna unleash as a legitimate release." – Jimmy Alvarado

http://www.razorcake.org/record-reviews/bombangrepp-demo
Track Name: CowMag
"Enkelheten Avgör

Även om det är välspelat, schysst producerat och korta låtar så finns det alltid en begränsning för hur stor attack jag kan ta emot av detta d-taktsinferno. Bombangrepp lirar snabb och rå crust med smattrande trummor, bitande gitarr, manglande bas och en trevligt vrålande vokalist som grädde på moset.
Låtarna får betyget högre än medel för det låter som ett piggt band som kan lira punk utan att hamna i dussinfacket. Det är inte lätt att vara nyskapande idag och det är inte heller Bombangrepp, men de försöker inte heller att krångla till det. Avskalade låtar och mangel från början till slut lämnar inget åt sitt öde och med tio låtar på tolv minuter är det inget att orda om. Enkelt, helt enkelt.
Det finns många kängband i vårt avlånga land men helhetsintrycket av denna demo gör Bombangrepp till ett av de bättre just nu. Det är enkelheten som avgör denna gång." - CowMag

http://cowmag.se/2012/06/04/enkelheten-avgor/
Track Name: Invisible Guy (D.S. vol. 2)
"Dimmorna Skingras is a Swedish D.I.Y-compilation coming straight out of Pike Records. If you know me, you’d know by now that I support D.I.Y. and this one got sent to me some weeks ago. I picked it up today and I’m going to review it for you too. Haven’t really heard much about Vol. 1 in this series, so I’ll basically have nothing to compare with. What I can say is that I like this cover better than the first one, even though I find it to be pretty awesome anyway.

One thing that’s good about this compilation is that the line-up have changed since Vol. 1, allowing ten new bands fight in the tiny space that is Dimmorna Skingras. Those ten are the following bands: Handgranat, PP7 Gaftzeb, Stockholms Blodbad, Bombangrepp, Vengeance Of Karma, The Bristles, Passiv Dödshjälp, Inavel, Von BøøM and Thräshers (from Hotet Från Skogarna). One of the bands that I recognize from this compilation would be Thräshers, as they were featured on another D.I.Y.-initiative. I also recognize Passiv Dödshjälp and The Bristles, I’ve actually heard one or two of their songs, but the other bands are virtually new to me.

Do you want to read more? Hop on the train below!

The Cover!

Inspired by propaganda, perhaps? A really interesting cover which leave me different options for interpretation. I also like the yellow and almost orange outlay of it, since it sheds a light on the more black areas of the illustration. As if it came from a huge center of D.I.Y, where all the creative little assets (robots in this case) get to mangle it out as if they were playing on a megaphone running through an apocalyptic scenario and enemy territory. Like orange/yellow representing the firepower and things exploding, the black representing mayhem and what apocalyptic scenery I’ll be hearing. But when you look a little bit closer on the badges this person in a suit has, this scenario goes away completely. Showing off a badge where it says: “Cash from Chaos“, but also adding another confusing dimension to it as he has a Jolly Roger-pin but also some The Ramones-pins, one with the famous line from the song with the same name: “Hey Ho, Lets Go!“.

So maybe this man with a suit ain’t so sinister at all? While flexing some anarchistic-symbols and Ramones stuff, he’s got the stereotypical look of a button-presser. Or a bureaucrat that only make decisions but never face the consequences. A double-edged sword pierces right through me and I don’t really know right from wrong. It also looks as if he’s going to make an important speech, while at the same time being a robot. Being one of the “classic” American presidential images where they sit by a large microphone, but this one also flexes with 24 tracks. Maybe the robot is tired of being in charge? Maybe he’s gone berserk and decide to use this channel to pump out punk, d-beat and hardcore instead of revealing his “message“?

The environment of the front cover also seems to be a bit disoriented, as if you’ve been hit by a d-beat train in the middle of nowhere. The lettering that spells out “D-I-M-M-O-R-N-A” and “S-K-I-N-G-R-A-S” all lay in different angles, maybe representing the more D.I.Y.-approach to cut and paste with paper and scissors. Also, I wouldn’t really know what the depiction of the flashlight would mean, but maybe the robot have been altered? Since his masters no longer control him, he might’ve gone out of hand and played this “devilish” music. Hopefully this will be what awaits me on this album, so now I’ve got a pretty clear vision of what I’ll be suspecting. Some crazy d-beat, punk and hardcore mayhem?

Side A

Handgranat

It starts out with the first band in the line-up, namely Handgranat (Handgrenade), a pretty wise choice if you’d take it by it’s name. Time to blow this place up. All-in all a great mix of punk, d-beat and good old crust to some extent, coming off with the depressing song Inget nytt under solen (roughly: Nothing new under the sun) is a great way to start off a more apocalyptic record filled to the brink with hopelessness. As it starts off with some basic riffs and a chugging introductory to a song with interesting vocals that almost come of as black metal to me. I find a little edge of it to be just that, with some of the riffing, but the sound scape reeks of crust and d-beat. One great song to start it off with, as the sound scape also is somewhat lo-fi which increases the gloom and doom in it (not genre wise though). The song is basically about the hatred of how everything is monotonous, living in the same concrete complex as you did years before and going to the same places that you’ve gone to before. Angst and drunkenness, everything in the same song. It compliments it well, I can really feel the hopelessness in my soul. “Seven hard years at the 44 (44:an is a punk cafe in Stockholm), I only manage it when I’m drunk“. At least the cover had been right all along, with good representation, for now.

There isn’t much of a transgression from this one to their next song, they mean business and start directly. Next song from the same band is Slå Blå (roughly: Hit Blue) which means: hit someone until they’re blue. Another song in almost the same vein as the first one, but it starts out with a more catchy riff and seem to develop their sound further. The same lo-fi environment is there, which is good, since the sound scape with all instruments included shrouds the singer at times but makes his voice even clearer when he shouts: “Hur fan kan man bete sig så?” – “How the fuck can you behave this way?“. The song is about police brutality and how they think they’re bigger and better at times just because they have a badge. I liked Handgranat pretty much, they contributed with a good start to this compilation and saturated it with their heinous d-beat and crustiness, accompanied with some pretty serious subjects. If you don’t feel hopeless now, you’ll be hopeless after this song. Good riddance!

PP7 Gaftzeb

Lets move on to the next band PP7 Gaftzeb. With their first song Sliding Doors (in english, yay!). It starts with a quick and nice d-beat mayhem and a catchy melody. “It could have been you!“, entering an mesmerizing and almost vortex-like riff that drags you down into oblivion. The singers voice is complimenting the sound scape very well, it almost makes for your own moshpit when sitting in a chair reviewing this stuff. They’ve actually got some hand-claps and a tambourine in the mix too, and it almost changes to a rock-song after you think you’re through with the d-beat insanity. But, nope, there it comes again. A carefully woven but seemingly chaotic sound scape that blends all the greatest elements from the genres around it.

With a good transgression into a song that isn’t as up-tempo as the first one, giving the rock-influenced atmosphere a facelift. This song is Life In The Mainstream. Some good riffs in this one and also a solo that sounds pretty good, a singer screaming his voice out. Slow down the pace, add up a little bit of attitude and scrape the floor with your dusty rock-knuckles. Feel like a king and take a sip of your beverage, because you’ll be taken on a ride that you’re not going to forget in the first place. Kodus to you, PP7 Gatzfeb for a good execution in a crossover of genres.

Stockholms Blodbad

Now we’re entering another backalley. Introducing to you: Stockholms Blodbad (Stockholms Bloodbath). And their first song Rättsprocessen (Lawsuit). Buddy, don’t chill down now, because we’ve just started. Continuing along the road with a quote from some Swedish dude talking about Stockholms Blodbad (a historical event). If you thought you were healthy, you’ll be even more healthy when you hear their blend of grindcore, crust and hardcore. Spitting these vile diseases from their own mouths, straight from the streets and with an attitude that will blow your mind. “Vissa måste slita för att få det att räcka till!” – “Some have to toil to make it last!“. With reasonable low-key hardcore breakdowns and general grindcore mincing. At times almost sounding like Svullet Frenulum, or at least some of their earlier songs. Sing your hearts out, because the grinding won’t stop.

Of course they had a little gap for humorous entries, with a sampling saying: “Men få lite hus på ungdomen klarar ni inte, förbannad förmyndarmentalitet!” from their second song Jag e inte botad (roughly: I’m not cured) accompanied by a fast grindcore assault, ending in a humorous way, as if they were actually barking at the sample. “Är det inte jobbigt när alla skäller på dig sådär?” – “Heh… jo“. I laughed but was caught off-guard thanks to the sampling, but hey, I survived the assault.

Their third song Va fan (roughly: What the fuck) should really be the theme of this album if anyone made one. It’s got such a menacing tone to it that I almost cringe, like we’re about to conquer empires and shit. A passive-agressive singer talking about the injustices that people at the social services don’t really know or care about. It almost sounds like a metal-intro, but should be something you’d be playing when going to Försäkringskassan (it’s shit) or Arbetsförnedringen here in Sweden. You’ll need the extra power needed, say this to yourself: “Har du stångats med myndigheter?” if you answer yes to that question, then you’d have this song as your theme. The riff is really what makes the whole song and the dark voice of the singer ranting about the subject. It’s fucking great.

Bombangrepp

A well-placed song indeed, because now the whole thing bursts into flames. Welcome Bombangrepp (roughly: Bombattack), with their first song Skuggan av dödens sändebud. (roughly: Shadow of death’s ambassador) A piece that just butchers your head and throws it away, while your body keeps moshing to the sound of real crust and d-beat. Even though the song is about one and a half minutes long, you’ll find much joy in the crustiness of the singers voice as he gets his message across while the d-beat drums stampede away and make your body mosh with itself. Surely one of the best placed songs on the A-Side if I had to choose, it is such a huge contrast to the third song of Stockholms Blodbad. I would also say that this is A-grade crust and d-beat all in a small shell that blew up during this session. I’ll keep that shell nearby, if I ever need to mosh again. I’m tired, you guys!

When it couldn’t get worse, it just got worse. Not in negative terms, but this shit is really adrenaline-filled. Second song Artförtryck (roughly: Speciesopression?). The strong thing about Bombangrepp is that they manage to utilize the best of their riffs, drumming and singing to make total hell. It also sounds somewhat old school when you think about it, which is a good thing in itself. When you listen to it, you’d think it’s at least four minutes long since they transgress so beautifully (angrily?) into each other. Now I also know why they chose their name, because you won’t live through it. I actually had to rest my ears for a bit before continuing with the third song. Which could only be a good sign for how fucking great it is and absolutely ballistic.

The third song Det sista sveket (rougly: The last imposture) is probably their most fucked-up song yet. It just masks itself and symbolizes their song name perfectly, here I thought they had sped it down to make it a little bit more interesting and maybe not escalate into a complete attack. Of course, I was wrong. This song is their most devilish, hard, rough, wicked and maniacally sounding song yet. The devils horns go up directly and put me through the roof, this is such a banger. Not in the sense of a club, but more a building that’s about to collapse. If I ever see these guys live, I’ll tell them to play this song in a building that’s about to collapse. It’s really the soundtrack of ultimate decay, brutality and anarchy. Lets raise the roof and let that fucker collapse.

Vengeance Of Karma

Back comes the lo-fi atmosphere and here comes Vengance Of Karma. I was wondering if their first song Dansa din djävel (Dance you devil) was an ode to Thomas DiLeva or a cover of his song with the same name? But then I realized that it wasn’t. This shit sounds metal in some areas and crusty as fuck and they’ve incorporated some hardcore and other vile elements into it. Roughly two minute long song that keep you on the path of moshing your brains out as you should be. I was thinking of the background of the song because it sounds like blackened crust, but at the same time it has that punk-edge to it. Like someone setting down the hourglass and announcing what time you have left, sending you into some crazed mode with this song spinning in the background. The hardcore breakdowns are great and I’d like more of it.

Then it was over. It spun over to their second track Destruktivt beteende (Destructive behaviour) which was more of a straight-forward hardcore and punk experience. I’m impressed by the vocalist and I wonder how he endures doing those insane growls and shrieking. Also, the part that I forgot to describe is the muddy texture of the sound scape that seem to drown everything else out. But I guess that’s just what their aim is to do, because this is inherently chaotic and fuels the confusion even more. Doomsday is coming, I tell ya.

Conclusion – Side A

I liked the positioning of the tracks and especially Stockholms Blodbad and Bombangrepp. It made the record throughout enjoyable and this was the high peak of it. I was also fond of the other bands since they made up the rest of Side A as good as they could. Even though I didn’t like them as much as the above. But I must say that the placement of the tracks was genius in between, it kept the whole side afloat and I never stopped to wonder what was next because it all felt like a whole and synchronized song. The variation was also good on this side, showing off a bunch of different genres and not just one or two. Normally you’d like one or two songs on a V/A of this size with basically six songs on each side, but this one is filled to the brink with 24 songs and I liked them in my own kind of way but prefered some over the others. So I have to reach a final verdict for this side.

The verdict is: 7.5/10

Do you really want to continue? Press the button, get to Side B!

Side B

The Bristles

Welcome back, this time we disseminate The Bristles and their first song Checkpoint Sweden. Starting with the final words from the Kurtz report and then blasting into catchy but venomous punk, with emphasis on great vocals and nice riffing. Almost a bit old school sounding here too, the only word you have to know is: “Checkpoint Sweden!“, which is being shouted into your ear almost as a mantra. This also makes it into a little bit of sing-a-long punk but instead of cheesy riffs and uneasy drumming it’s precision stacked turbulence within a total punk avalanche. Great song, side B couldn’t have started any better.

Continuing with their second song A prayer for the employer which almost has some Oi!-influences in them. I’m especially thinking of the working class lyrics, the vocals and the sinister riffing in this one. The difference is noticeable and the song is really well-balanced but still hits for your throat. I fucking like these punk-songs that are filled with attitude and where you actually (almost) can hear what they are singing without having to decode it through searching for lyrics or the likes of it. “Too good to even talk to us“, wow, this line surely applies to more than the song is about and it’s filled with truth that even the deniers can’t deny. I’m amazed by these songs.

Passiv Dödshjälp

Passiv Dödshjälp (Passive Euthanasia) contributed with two unreleased songs for this compilation, two good songs at that. Lets begin with their first song Inga gaddar, inga brudar (roughly: No tattoos, no chicks) mark the return of the lo-fi sound scape that I adore so much. No, but really, I like it very much. There are some good riffs in this one and as usual I hear a mayhem that’s uncontrollable, but this time it’s more concentrated around rough drumming and vocals but a little bit catchier and more melodic riffing. The bass in this song is absolutely uncompromising, it would do good in a dark post-punk song. Enough about that, this song has everything that I want. Not too much annihilation, just serving a little bit for you throughout the song and then unleashing a friendlier and catchier segment that’s really enjoyable.

Moving on to their second song Avsmak (Distaste), there’s a galloping horde of drums and also some nice riffs to accompany them. We’re in the netherworld now, trying to get to the lower regions. As I said before, they’re uncompromising as fuck. There’s really no words for this, but there’s an awesome breakdown á la hardcore-style. Also a continuous riff throughout almost the whole song, but that really doesn’t matter as I hear the singer shrieking his heart and lungs out for this particular song. Fucking nasty and good.

Inavel

Going into the world of Inavel (Inbred) and their first song Slavsystem (Slavesystem). Which opens up for a lot of grinding, a lot of lo-fi and a more punky sound than the prior ones. Actually reminds me of some kind of thrash mayhem covered in punk-attitude. From the start to the end, it’s an uneasy and unending process of slaughtering the instruments. Which is great.

Their second song Använd hjärnan (Use your brain) is basically the same. Thump, thump, thump. Dun-dun-dun. But how awesome isn’t that? Surely something you’d have with you in dark corners of the alleyway. The third one however seem to tone it down a bit and now I can actually hear the singer a little bit better. This would be the song Sluta existera (Stop existing), which pulls of some basic riffing and some almost identical drumming but in a slower pace. However, I like the singers voice as it sounds like someone straight from the street. With no hope and not really much to look forward to.

Whilst their fourth(!) and last song GHB is more of an old school punk-song with nothing more than a humorous singer gaining higher pitch and singing about the drug. Pretty nice anyway, maybe something for your Sunday-stroll.

Von BøøM

Enter the world of Von BøøM, with their first song, a straight-forward and no-bullshit hardcore/d-beat song: Le Cotard. This one actually include a solo and some nice transgressions from the faster paced drums and the slower paced drumming, until the end draws nearer, when they utilize the last of their manpower to put some shit down. Continuing with the second song Allt ljus på mig (Every light on me), got some quite nice riffs and drumming. Sometimes the singer sounds familiar, as if he’s been in a band that’s wider known than this one. I really like his style of singing too. The low-down accompanied with the stampeding drums that transgress from a lower tempo with some form of breakdown, turns into a wild mess which sounds really good.

Thräshers

Long time, no siege. It’s time for these guys again, the famous Thräshers from “up in the country“. This form of blend with 80′s and 90′s hardcore have really had it’s toll on them. No, just kidding, they’re as great as they were before when I got some acquaintance. The first song Smäller på Stan is really the stepping stone before unleashing the whole artillery, all-in-all a great hardcore-song which blend the elements of what they represent perfectly fine. I also like their dialect which screams NORRLAND right up in my ear. The second song is really the fury and the root of what Thräshers is for me, it’s named Dimmorna Skingras and can really be a good representation and ending for the same compilation I’m reviewing. A more hasty version of the first song, but with more side-stepping and a greater range in the vocal-department. Also, I like the riffs and the drumming which made this the perfect ending for Dimmorna Skingras. Jeez, now I’m done with this, I’ll hit these two songs up a last time before I move on to the real conclusion. This was fucking awesome.

Conclusion – Side B

I thought Side B was a really good showcase for how many talented and unsigned bands there are out there. The placement for this one was cool too, which set a high stake on the bands to perform correctly. They matched it perfectly and I liked some of the transgressions. But I don’t think that’s the most important thing, the most important thing that made this side outweigh the first by a small marginal was that there were more variation in this side to be honest. The Bristles and Thräshers really made a good impression for first and last starters, the other bands were a good compliment to that too. But I must say that Checkpoint Sweden was one of the greatest songs I’ve heard in a while, and that’s saying something since I liked the other bands too. Equally a nice experience and a very well done one at that.

The verdict is: 8/10

The Final Conclusion?

Fuck! Is the one word I’ll start using for this. It was totally amazing all in all. A really satisfying compilation that has everything you’d ever wanted, whether you’re a punk, a crustie, a grinder or a hardcore foot-soldier. Good blend of bands that ultimately hightened the experience even more and every single band had something to offer. What impresses me even more is that the bands financed this themselves out of their own pockets, they made this record on a pure D.I.Y.-platform which makes it even cooler. I like and endorse these kinds of projects and to be honest, this is better than most of the commercially produced compilations out there. I hope I won’t be dissatisfied when the next volume arrives because I’ll be waiting for that one too. This is one of those compilations that deserve a follow-up, and of the (now three) compilations I’ve ever reviewed, both of them were ultimately satisfying to the bitter end. Even though I find it hard (from time to time) to put into words what some songs mean to me, this one had it all. Amazing is all I have to say, and the record is dirt cheap too. For only 40 SEK + postage you receive a compilation with 24-tracks on a 12¨ vinyl. That makes it even better and affordable for those of you that don’t have a lot of cash to spend on records like these. I would say: buy it, you will not regret it the least.

The final verdict is: 9/10

Thank you to all the bands and Pike Records for making this possible!" - Invisible Guy

http://invisibleguy.wordpress.com/2012/06/30/va-dimmorna-skingras-vol-2/
Track Name: Noise For Pleasure
"This blog just lost its crust virginity. I am actually reviewing crust punk for the first time in my life, shit yeah!

So this is Bombangrepp and they hail from Trollhättan and Göteborg, Sweden, and that means local lads. The first thing I did was to search for some information about the band and I found out that they are a four-piece band and that this demo was recorded by Fred Forsberg at Forsberg Musikproduktion in the second half of 2011 and released shortly thereafter. I also found out that the logo and artwork on the demo cover is made by the drummer, which is refreshing due to the fact that I resent covers made in photoshop!

Let's get started.
The first track is called Livets Refräng and it begins with a slow intro that evolves into some pounding d-beat destruction. So far I actually enjoy the verse riff and the drums, but the vocals are really not my type of vocals. Except for the vocals this is a pretty sweet track, with a fast guitar/bass and wrecking drums. The next track is Ännu En Syndabock and it starts pretty furiously, vocals are a bit better, but I have to say the drums sound pretty weak.

The third track Det Sista Sveket is actually the longest track on the demo and it's another assault but with a slow intro. Followed by Det Sista Sveket we have Den Inre Striden which is my favorite track on this demo. It's short, fast and pissed. Moving on we arrive at the fifth track, Med Livet Som Insats. This track is just another mad onslaught. Following Med Livet Som Insats we have the title track, Skuggan Av Dödens Sändebud. I guess this track is about war or something crust-ish like that, the singer performs better on this track. Moving on we have Autonoma Frizoner and this pretty much continues in the same way the previous tracks did. The eighth track is Inget Hopp - Ingen Framtid and I guess this track is about living a miserable life. It's fast and short. The last two tracks are Artförtryck and Basic Needs. They go on in the same tempo as the earlier songs, sweet.

To sum it all up: Crust demo. Short songs played in a fast tempo. I'd love to see longer songs and less straightforward velocity for the next demo

My verdict: 2/5" - Lars

http://noisefp.blogspot.se/2012/07/review-bombangrepp-skuggan-av-dodens.html
Track Name: Periferia
"Prostě pecka. Kopanec z votočky do hlavy. Takhle na mě působí Demo CDR (download) švédské crust core grupy Bombangrepp, na kterou mě upozornil a doslova mi ji vnutil (hehe) Marek Marchin od východních sousedů. Že prej tohle by se ti mohlo líbit. Muhehehe. Nejenom, že se mi to líbí, ale mám i ten nutkavej pocit to vyřvat do světa (samozřejmě i vám všem váženým čtenářům našeho webzinu). Ok. Pojďme na to. Deset válů. Deset pětikorun, který se ti bolestivě otisknou na břicho jak v pupendu (sorry, blbější přirovnání momentálně při ruce nemám a dnes to není poslední!). Nekompromisní nařvaná brutální crust jízda ovlivněná švédskou školou jako byli Anti-Cimex nebo Bombanfall, ale zahraná s agresivitou a drzostí starých dobrých Krigshot z alba Orebro Mangel. Primitivní, jednoduchý, ale stejně hutný a hustý jak krupicová kaše, kterou si včera k večeři zase neměl. Dvanáct minut uteče jako voda a v hubě zůstává sucho, ruce se klepou a ty klikáš na ikonku "opakovat".

PS: Mám tuhle nahrávku doma už nějakej ten pátek a ke svému údivu jsem si ji po delší pauze pustil znovu a znovu mě rozsekala. Nechápu proč jsem vás s touhle nahrávkou neseznámil dřív ..... Mám takovej pocit, že ji stále můžete lehce vygooglit a stáhnout z kapelovýho bandcampu. Zapátrejte ..." - Phobia

Grade: 4/5

http://periferia.cz/recenze/cd/bombangrepp-skuggan-av-ddens-sndebud-1011/
Track Name: Joyzine
"Det jag gillar med Bombangrepp och deras demo ”Skuggan av Dödens Sändebud” är att de inte gör sig till. Det räcker med en snabb blick på omslaget – eller förresten, det räcker att kolla in loggan, nej blott höra bandnamnet för att förstå vad det du kommer att få höra: skitig crust som handlar om världens alla orättvisor.

Bombangrepp tillhör varken bottenskiktet eller den absoluta eliten när det kommer till svensk kängpunk, de är däremot mycket kompetenta arvtagare till både tidiga Wolfpack som tidiga Skitsystem, och med ett öga för upphetsande detaljer vilket bådar gott för framtiden. Jag skulle inte våga påstå att Bombangrepp kommer att skapa framtida stordåd, det har de inte originalitet till, men de har absolut potential och nog med egna idéer för att inte falla i glömska. Men de får gärna göra den där epokavgörande skivan som bevisar mig fel, ingen skulle bli gladare än jag." - Erik Hammarström, Joyzine
3/5

http://www.joyzine.se/?p=5759
Track Name: Invisible Guy - demo
"There’s something edgy about this, differentiating from the general d-beat chaos. As can be heard within the first song “Livets Refräng“, the general mood of the song is total chaos and anarchy. But there’s something that makes this stand out from all the other bands that do the same thing, I don’t really know what, but some of the riffs are innovative and bring a great strength to the rest of the sound-scape. The singer is also hell-bent on this, which also makes it easy to understand how they’ve managed to make this song so great. He’s got somewhat different vocals and they’re bearable. At times, there’s the same kind of feeling to it, as it feels a little bit like everything else, but it continually fades out the more I listen to the song and understand the greatness of it. One of the other tracks on the album, namely the fourth one, titled as “Den Inre Striden” has some really cool riffs that make it much more enjoyable to listen to. The whole sound-scape as a whole is just making it even better, whereas the drums take a little bit more room in this song. At times it almost sounds like it’s knocking on the door of metal, but that’s just how the riffs sound in some parts of the song. There’s really a raw Mob 47 and Bizex-B feeling in it, if you blended those two together and kept the tempo of the aforementioned.

I feel like some other songs also need to be mentioned. The sixth song, which is also the title-track, namely: “Skuggan Av Dödens Sändebud“, delivers a fierce combination of the best in both punk and d-beat. It’s absolutely raw throughout, it’s almost as if they’re a bunch of skeletons performing, since the fury of the song have already gnawed down to the bone. That’s how it feels when listening to this song, there’s a total sense of apathy but at the same time the tempo just continually keeps punching me in my ears. One of the best songs on the album, hands down, is the eighth song “Inget Hopp – Ingen Framtid“, which is indescribably majestic in its musical appearance. So if this song haven’t made you loose all your hope and just say fuck it, you’re down in deep water. The riffs are excellent, the drumming is on point and the vocalist makes his best effort so far. Since this album was released in 2011, I was hesitant at first to do a review on it, but I thought it would be cool to put this one out too. You should get this album if you have the chance, definitely one of the better d-beat punishers out there.

Download their album for free over here, but I suggest that you give them some cash, because they’re worth it." - Invisible Guy

http://invisibleguy.wordpress.com/2012/10/24/harvesting-13-do-i-even-feel-anything-part-i/
Track Name: Lukinzine - AMS
"När det kommer till olika ismer så är antagligen speciesism en av de som är minst accepterad av allmänheten, så när det dyker upp en hel skiva som är till förmån för dem som arbetar mot detta förtryck känns det som att det musikaliska innehållet är det minst viktiga. Men, då det nu är mitt syfte att ge en bild av vad som döljer sig på skivan förutom åsikter så blir det ändå det som kommer att ske på de nästkommande raderna. Värt att sägas innan vi en går vidare är att här finns något för de flesta, då det är diger samling artister som genom den här samlingen har valt att ta ställning i frågan.

Då det är en berg-och-dal-bana av genrer som det bjuds på innan de 25 låtarna är över, så det gäller att lyssna flera gånger innan man riktigt kan skilja topparna från dalarna. Den första dippen kommer dock redan i den inledande låten Veganrulle, där Swedish Tiger Sound försöker underhålla men lyckas endast med att skapa ett irritationsmoment som gör att man med glädje går över till nästkommande krigare nämligen Follow Him to the End of the Desert. Som alltid med Borlänges vargälskare nummer ett så är det schyssta texter som finurligt spottas fram till tonerna av tunga beats. Inga konstigheter. Amanda Jenssen och Soundtrack of Our Lives kan klumpas ihop i det här fallet då de båda låter som de alltid gör, och gillar man en låt med dem så gillar man allt. Därefter tar dock skivan en dipp ned i utfyllnadsmusik-dalarna då både Susie’s Library och Cirkus Miramar går in genom ena örat och ut genom det andra. Tyvärr.

På den här vägen är det sedan under resten av skivans gång, man åker upp och ned mellan bottenskrap och stjärnskott för att sedan avsluta det hela med ordentliga käftsmällar ur den hårdare skolan så som Anchor, No Omega, Gamla Pengar och Bombangrepp. Egentligen är det inte så konstigt att skivan känns så pass spretande då det är åsikter och inte musik som ramar in helheten, och det gör att man under skivans 73 minuter inte alltid håller fokus, eftersom vissa låtar är rent utav ointressanta. Värt att säga är dock att skivan är ett informationsinstrument som ska agera ögonöppnare och inte öronsmekande, och därför är den helt klart värd sin vikt i plast och papper samt mer därtill. Jag finner det både rörande och peppande att de har lyckats få med sig så pass många artister med olika bakgrunder och ena dem under en och samma kamp för att hjälpa dem som inga egna röster har." - Lukinzine 5/10

http://lukinzine.se/blandade-artister-artister-mot-speciesism/
Track Name: Fria Tidningen - AMS
"Musik som god gärning tveksamt

Samlingsskivan Artister mot speciesism med artister som Amanda Jenssen och Soundtrack of our lives säljs för att uppmärksamma djurrättsfrågor. En god tanke men dessvärre en rätt svårlyssnad historia, skriver Niklas Karlsson.

Att den här skivan över huvud taget finns är, som jag ser det, i åtminstone två avseenden en sorglig historia. Låt mig förklara. Det handlar om tillgång och efterfrågan. Artister mot speciesism säljs nämligen till förmån för Djurens rätt och Djurrättsalliansen. Inget fel med det, tvärtom. Det sorgliga ligger i att vi som konsumenter har ett behov av ett fysiskt minne som påminner oss om vår goda gärning när tv-inslagen har lämnat oss. För det andra: att organisationerna dessutom finner detta behov så viktigt att de, som producenter, faktiskt känner sig manade att uppfylla det, gör mig lite cynisk.

Här samsas 25 bidrag från mestadels okända akter som kängpunkiga Bombangrepp (med låten ”Slaktad, inpackad, såld”) och Cirkus Miramar, tillsammans med mer namnkunniga som The Soundtrack of Our Lives, Amanda Jenssen, Meja och Thomas Öberg. Det faller sig därför naturligt att det är en eklektisk samling, ett mönster som dessvärre går igen i låtarnas kvalitet. Det gör Artister mot speciecism till en rätt svårlyssnad historia och tillfällena att lyssna på skivan från början till slut blir därför få. Kanske är just det inte skivans huvudsakliga syfte heller.

Hur beundransvärt ändamålet än må vara blir det problematiskt när den goda saken ska fungera som en universellt gångbar ursäkt för nästan vad som helst. Som musikaliskt alster förmår detta nämligen sällan engagera mer än för korta ögonblick. Ungefär som en Live Aid-konsert fast i skivform.

I sina ljusaste stunder lyckas samlingen få lyssnaren att ägna djurförtrycket en tanke eller två, men för den som sympatiserar med organisationerna finns det långt bättre sätt att visa sitt stöd." - Niklas Karlsson

Publicerad: Onsdag 8 maj 2013 | 11:39

http://www.fria.nu/artikel/97736
Track Name: Deaf Sparrow
"I have been meaning to say something about this bunch of crusties from Sweden for a long while. Usually something to the effect that they are a pretty good band, and that their music has power. Lots of power and energy. Did I mention that they were crusts? Yeah, they are. And they come from the right place, Sweden, albeit their style has exploded so much over the last couple of years that even Southern Lord has transformed itself into a crust label and they are flooding the marketplace. Anyway, I was saying that I think Bombangrepp are excellent and that I wish I had given this 2011 release Skuggan av Dodens Sandebud the proper coverage a few months ago because maybe back then I would have felt a tad more strong about it. Not that I don’t now, because really, this recording alone is much better than all those Southern Lord crust records lumped together. Bombangrepp have bite, you know, like the bite of a tiger whale, which I don’t think is an animal, but you get the idea.

4/5"

http://www.deafsparrow.com/thegoodthebadtheunsignedXX-feature.htm